Here are the 4 Stages of COVID-19

here are the 4 stages of covid19

Here are the 4 Stages of COVID-19

There’s a lot being said of how a virus travels from one place to another place, and how India is at stage 2 of the novel coronavirus. But what does this really mean?

here are the 4 stages of covid19
Stage 1: Imported Cases

When the virus travels from other high-risk countries with COVID-19 outbreaks to India.

India is at Stage 2: Local Transmission

The virus is transmitted only to those in close contact with an infected patient. The cases remain within close family members or acquaintances. According to the Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR) said that India is currently at stage 2

Stage 3: Community Transmission

A person does not have to have traveled to high-risk countries, or be in direct contact with an infected person to become infected. Here, the circle of transmission becomes so huge that doctors cannot trace where you got the virus from.

we can imagine that it is early to say that India has contained the virus. We are hoping not to reach the community transmission stage but this cannot be predicted. It depends on how strongly we close our international borders, this should help prevent it.

Stage 4: Epidemic

The disease spreads rapidly to many people in a short span of time. This becomes a national health emergency.

Currently, India’s testing strategy is to focus on people who have traveled internationally and may have been infected via stage 1. If these people show symptoms and once tested, are confirmed to be positive, the next step is to reach out to their close contacts to test them. As per stage 2, people in the close circle of an infected person may be infected too.

They are not focussing on people outside of these two specific sets as we have not reached stage 3 yet. some measures like social distancing, which can flatten the curve of the virus are of utmost importance.

Going to stage 3 may be inevitable. but we have started prompt action to delay the course. He praised India’s efforts at self-containment like regulating and restricting international travels, ordering shut-downs of schools, universities, and cinema-halls and encouraging offices to ensure their employees work from home. It started these measures in stage 2, whereas Italy and China took to extremes shutdowns at stage 4. 

Any questions related to this post? leave us a comment below

1 thought on “Here are the 4 Stages of COVID-19”
Post a Comment